package. worth the wait.

Dear Haber and ReD,

You have my heart forever.  I have finally received the package after a lot of stress and frustration.   Holy. Cow.

Was it worth the couple days wait and 92,000 shillings?  Absolutely.  I am overwhelmed by your support for me and these children.  From the get-go everyone has been really encouraging, from the lunch table talks to ReD letting me live there for a month to Dawn so graciously accepting my resignation.  I love all of you more than you could possibly understand.

I don’t know if I’ll ever come back to Nashville to “settle down,” but this package assures me that city and the people who live there love me immensly.  I will never, ever have any group of people in my life quite like you.  As stressful as Haber was at times (even for the receptionist), that experience was a huge blessing.  To my old coworkers, I love you so freaking much.  I wish I could stroll around with the mail cart hand you each a thank you note and maybe even do a little dance.  To Reynold, Ella and Donna (ReD), you will never know how much you have helped me out.  I know if I ever need a place to sleep, you’ll not only give me a place to crash, but you’ll also feed me and force me to play Wii.  I love you and you will forever be my family.  And to my very best friends in Nashville (Kaley, Steve, V-Rok and, even my sandwich man, Adam), thank you for dealing with me more than anyone should have to.  From working together to hanging out to having slumber parties to wogging, I love(d) every minute I spend with you.  I love you.

I love you. I love you. I love you.

Thank you for this package.  Thank you for the letters.  Thank you for the gummies and Jelly Bellies (Kaley, even if they are stale I’m still eating every single one).  Thank you for the peanut butter, magazines and movies.  Thank you on behalf of the children for all the children/Bible movies.  Thank you for all the art supplies and clothes and stuffed animals (though there is a problem of the older kids taking the stuffed animals and selling them on the black market…no joke).  Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

You have wholly contributed to the instant renewing of my tired, exhausted and emotional spirit.  These next three and a half weeks have become a lot more bearable because of your love and generousity. 

I owe you something.  I don’t know what, but it’s something awesome.  One day, I will repay you.  I promise.

Nashville…I LOVE YOU and I MISS YOU, and I will be back sometime soon.

5 responses to “package. worth the wait.

  1. I am so happy you finally got it!!!!!

    Enjoy those stale gummies! (and your movie 😉

  2. you lie, we never had a slumber party!

  3. You have left a huge hole here, we were just talking about you at lunch & how much we miss you & the joy you bring. Just know that you are always loved.

  4. Well Colleenie Weenie…..this is your technically challenged cousin in Columbus OH, Debbi. When you started on your adventure, I was going through a transition at work with switching companies. Things have calmed down considerably, and I must say I have been glued to my terminal here at work (shhhh) for the past 6 hours over 2 days. Reading your epic tale. Getting reports from Aunt Carolyn and GMa Honey have been great, but to sit down and read it in your own words…..indescribable. I sit in a cubicle in the middle of the “Main Office” and I bet people think I am crazy……crying, laughing, ooohhhing and ahhhing. You have become an incredible young woman. It shows in the faces of those beautiful children, the “comments” from the people whose lives you have obviously touched, as well as your tenacity in sticking to your guns for over 3 years to accomplish what you set out to do. I love you and I am so very proud of you. Even though I am way behind, like everyone else, I CAN’T WAIT FOR YOUR NEXT BLOG!!!! Love you a bushel and a peck and a hug around the neck.

  5. i don’t live in nashville so i didn’t get to contribute to this care package of glee 😦
    BUT i still love you anywayyyy!

Leave a Reply

