the plural of deer is still deer.

Heads up: This entry comes with no pictures.

I am kind of playing hooky from St. Joseph’s today.  I mark papers all morning and I woke up with a head cold today, so I opted to stay here with the little ones.  On Monday, however, I did get to go to the blackboard.  It was pretty fancy.  Matovu answered a question, I was proud of him.

While working at the primary school, I have put together a list of things that could use improvement.  Ready, go… 1) The English teacher didn’t know the plural of deer is deer.  2) The tests have under a hundred questions.  However, to score them, you add up all the correct answers and put a percentage sign beside it.  3) The headmaster didn’t realize North America had more than one country.  And no, the president of the United States is not the president of the entire South American continent.

The school does have one good thing going for it.  We take a 30-minute break at 10:30.  They bring the teachers tea.  It is really sweet, but so amazing.  I love, love, love it.

In two days, I’ll officially have one month left.  I don’t know why I’m counting down.  I am so eager to go home to everything that is comfortable to me.  However, I am absolutely dreading knowing that I won’t wake up every morning and see these kids.   Dang. It.

Sorry this is short, Ruth needs her computer back to type a document.

I love you a bunch and I miss you a lot.  I am still learning to love you better.

4 responses to “the plural of deer is still deer.

  1. So that is only one month and 2 days to enjoy the care package that we sent. Hint Hint, nudge nudge, wink wink…..IS IT THERE YET?????

    I love you.

  2. Hi Colleen, I FINALLY got your care package out and the post office said it should take 5 to 6 days to get to you. I’m sorry for the delay, but I’ve experienced a terrible cold and a minor set back in my job that has left me feeling pity for myself. Unlike me, huh? Well I’ll pull up my big girl pants and conquer this stepping stone too! I miss you and love you a bushel and a peck. Missi xoxo

  3. i feel behind on what is going on with you. did you get another job out there? you need to get an rss feed! it’s how i keep up with all my friend’s blogs.

    anywho, hope you’re doing well. praying for you!

  4. so…. can we make these blogs a book when you come home??? this is wonderful Colleen and i can’t wait till you get back! I’m so proud of my little sister, always have been and always will. Gift is my fav so far! By the way, I think we’re all relieved it wasn’t malaria and just the flu- YOUR COMMIN HOME and your jokes about it b4 you left weren’t funny!!! lol

Leave a Reply

