an excerpt. and some photos to pacify you.

Jesus is good.  Jesus is real.  Jesus is forgiving.  I’m not going to elaborate much, except to say I’m sincerely saying those things for the first time in a very, very long time.  Longer than you think and longer than I’m willing to admit. 

So could you love this bastard child?
Though I don’t trust you to provide
With one hand in a pot of gold
And with the other in your side
‘Cause I am so easily satisfied
By the call of lovers so less wild
That I would take a little cash
Over your very flesh and blood

‘Cause I am a whore I do confess
But I put you on just like a wedding dress
And I run down the aisle, I run down the aisle
I’m a prodigal with no way home
But I put you on just like a ring of gold
And I run down the aisle
I run down the aisle to you

Wedding Dress by Derek Webb

I’m going rafting on the Nile Saturday (no big deal) and will be slumber partying with my American friend Rachel tomorrow and Saturday night.  She’s staying with a pastor of a church.  His family has a toilet and a shower!  Oh, hot water, how I’m looking forward to our reunion!! I won’t be updating until Sunday night, so here’s pictures to hold you over.

This girl doesn’t reside at the orphanage and I don’t know her name.  Quite frankly, she tests my patience.  She’s always interupting my lessons with the kids here.  And when I ask her to “faluma” or “ganda” she doesn’t leave.  She just stands there and smiles.  But she did take a really cute picture.

I love this picture of Paul and Anisha.  He was trying to get her to pose for me and she wanted to stand on this little ledge on the wall.  At one point, Paul was talking to someone else and not looking at Anisha.  She thought he was going to leave.  Look at her little hand grabbing not only at his shirt, but also checking to make sure he’s still protecting her.  And Ruthie is trying to sneak in the shot between them.

Faith.  She was slow to warm up to me and really show her personality, but now we’re pretty much BFFs.  I think that’s Natasha and Rebecca dancing in the background.

Anisha was no longer in the posing/smiling mood.  Mercy was trying to get her to look at the camera.  It was a failed attempt. The babies always have crust all over their face.  It disgusted me at first, but whatever.  Snot, mouse/rats, pit latrines…it’s all old news now.

I love you and I miss you, but I don’t want to hog the internet all night.  Chani probably wants to send out a few emails.

2 responses to “an excerpt. and some photos to pacify you.

  1. Amen sister!! Have a great time this weekend and enjoy every minute of it, take lots of pictures!
    I miss you so much!
    Lots of love~

  2. rafting on the nile…no big deal. you’re funny! hope you have fun and enjoy your shower. sweet pictures. love ya!

Leave a Reply

