um. we don’t have a bride price.

I was sitting here talking with Bernah and Halima, being girls…talking about our lives.  I had dinner tonight with some friends at Hotel Ivory.  COLD FANTAS!  I’m going to school with Bernah in the morning because they have parent conferences and Ruth can’t go, so I get to step in.  No worksheets today, I had the children read (or attempt to read) to me.  For the top school (preschool) students, I had them read the ABCs.  Teddy did great.  James…not so much. 

Colleen: A…
James: 9
Colleen: No. B…  9 is a number.  A, B…
James: 12
Seven minutes and 22 times through the alphabet later…
Colleen: A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T…
James: 12
Colleen is now defeated.

We played some games.  Mingle, Mingle, Mingle.  Stuck in the Mud (freeze tag). And some London Bridge game, but the bridge never falls down.  Whatever. Enock was my partner and we were quite the odd pair.

I am exhausted.  I don’t know why, I didn’t do all the much today.  I think something about African culture just significantly slows things down, and it doesn’t take as much to make me tired. Then again, I am surrounded by 27 children each day. 

You know what’s up.

Anisha eats anything. And loves being held. A lot. Once you pick her up, you can’t put her down…she’ll cry.  On a more serious note, she’s HIV-positive.  I thought I’d have more trouble being affectionate with the three children who have HIV, but I’m not.  But then again, I haven’t had to deal with any open wounds (something I’m not generally good at anyways).

Bob. Smiling.  Not crying, which is often does and tries to hide.  My heart breaks each time.  He wants to be so manly, but he’s still a little boy.

This picture of Ruth is a glamour shot.  At least it reminds me of the one time I got a Glamour Shot, funny story. I was all of 10 maybe and didn’t have boobs.  So the weird cloth tube top I had to wear totally fell down as the man was taking my picture.  I was embarassed, he wasn’t phased.  Sometime soon I will post about the absence of the obsession of what we consider beauty. 

James is too busy being Rambo to learn the alphabet.  We were playing a game at one point and he made a visor out of notebook paper.  It was so funny to me.

These are children and these are their lives.  I forget that sometimes, because I know I’ll be back in the comfort of the US in two and half months.  And then I remember that for them, this isn’t some trip, and my heart breaks.

One response to “um. we don’t have a bride price.

  1. I am in awe at your pictures!!! Those children are beautiful.
    Love you!!

Leave a Reply

