i found 10,000 shillings in my suitcase.

I don’t know how it got in there.  Up until yesterday I had my spending money hid in different pockets of my different suitcases, so it probably just fell out.  I finally just decided to put it all in my purse.  Knowing me, I’d probably forget where I put it when it came to my last weeks here and I needed spending money.

Yesterday I did my laundry for the first time.  I bought detergent at the local store, the kids were fascinated and all wanted to help.  I was somewhat frustrated because I didn’t want help, seeing as I had undergarments I’d be washing.  For the first time, I truly thought in a negative sense…”What have I gotten myself into!?”  The feelings were washed away as quickly as the dirt in my skirt…though a timeout would be still be nice.  I have always really, really appreciated my alone time, and here there is zilch of it.  Jesus knew I was longing for community, but dang…when it rains, it pours!!! 

Today was more of the same.  Making worksheets, working on worksheets, eating, buying water, more eating. And of course, sana manu…my favorite time of the day.

There’s more I could write, and I probably will later.  But for now, this is all you get.  And I’m on my third book of this trip.  Finished: In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day and Winesburg, Ohio (thank you, Kira, it was an excellent book).  Started: The Great Divorce

Oh, and some photos of course.

A sweet scene from church on Sunday.  I’m holding Anisha.

Frida is constantly observing, never really talking.  She smiles, but not as often as the other children.  I really love just holding her.

Where I take my (almost) daily sponge baths. I used to love sponge baths as a kid, I hated sitting in a tub…if only I could find my inner child and love them again.  Haha…

I have the lower bunk, and until today all my junk dominated the top bunk.  Right now, only Ruth and I are in this room…come mid-October, it’ll be full of volunteers.

This is my life for a little while. And I kind of love it.

I love you and I miss you, but it’s bedtime. Sula balloon gee.

5 responses to “i found 10,000 shillings in my suitcase.

  1. God has his own plans…..
    I truely love the pictures!!! Now those our primitive living conditions, my youth should be so happy they had what they did at Alive LOL 🙂
    Praying you had restful sleep, much love to you, my hero!!!!

  2. I want to purchase that last picture in poster size. Seriously.

  3. did you like the book “in a pit with a lion on a snowy day”? i read it a while ago. was just curious what as to what you thought. much love and hugs.

  4. I am so glad you liked the book. I am also glad to hear and see that you are loving it there, I kind of figured you would.

  5. The last “Shadow Angels” picture is absolutely wonderful!!! You are an amazing photographer! I can’t wait to show Gma Honey. I think this photograph embodies the whole idea of your experience…taking the small ones by the hand…and being a living example of God’s incredible love! Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

