i want to be home.

I just got an email from my dad. My grandma passed away yesterday or today (I hate you time difference) at 2:30am.

It’s almost surreal. I am so far away from everything and everyone, and I don’t want to do this alone.

God, I just want to be home right now.

She sent me this email on the 20th.

Add star

Olive

<olw141@verizon.net>

Sat, Sep 20, 2008 at 10:02 PM
To: Colleen Watson <watson.colleen@gmail.com>

Dearest Colleen,    Glad to hear from you and know you haven’t been sold into slavery. Remember there is an angel on your shoulder and watching over you every minute. Glad things are going well and they are welcoming you. It should be a wonderful adventure. We are thinking of you this very minute.
Love, Grandma

This is somewhat awful. And I want to be home.

16 responses to “i want to be home.

  1. i’m so sorry to hear about your grandmother, colleen… =(
    she’s in an amazing place now though!
    and seeing your adventures from above.

    later tonight, if my pirated internet connection allows it, i’m going to email you! lots to tell you. LOVE YOU! MISS YOU!

  2. OH, Colleen. I am so sorry this has happened. I love you. I am so sorry. She fully supported you in this, where you are is ok. Difficult, but survivable. I love you.

  3. We are wrapping you in love and hugs Sweetie. Feel the angel on your shoulder. Grandma Olive would so much want you to feel at peace in your heart. We all love you.

  4. My sweet Colleen! Prayers are surrounding you! Your Grandma Olive was an amazing women who was so proud of you and has her arms wrapped around you right now!! She is at peace and with are good Lord who welcomed her with open arms!
    I love you!! Be still and pray my love

  5. hang in there and you are in uganda for a reason. i love you and i am terribly sorry for your loss.

  6. I hate to say that I have been through this too many times in my life. Twice this summer alone. It’s so hard to be away from my family when a close friend or loved one passes on. But I just pray and cry and remember that they are building up God’s army in Heaven and waiting for each one of us with open arms.

    Grandma Olive is sitting on your shoulder right now watching your every step. This way she gets to experience what you are experiencing, not just reading or hearing about it. She is right there with you!

    Psalm 73:26 “My heart and my flesh may fail, but God is the owner of my heart and my portion forever.”

    Big sloppy kisses and hugs from everyone here at Haber.

    Love you.
    Kaley

  7. Colleenie, I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. You know your grandma loved you and supported you, and she’s in heaven watching over you now. Everyone in Nashville loves you very much and are here praying for you!!!

  8. I LOVE YOU!!!! I’m so sorry to hear about your grandma. I’m sending you a really big hug right now. I’m praying for you too. You are not alone. God is the ultimate comforter…embrace Him.

  9. i’m so sorry to hear about your grandmother, colleen… =(
    she’s in an amazing place now though!
    seeing your adventures from above.

    later tonight, if my pirated internet connection allows it, i’m going to email you! lots to tell you. LOVE YOU! MISS YOU!

  10. i love you c-dubbs! sorry for your loss 😦

  11. Dear Colleen—I am Lilly’s “other ” Grandma–I shared your sis Shannon for a brief time in Kentucky this summer. You are blessed to have such a sweet sister. I have enjoyed reading your blog. Sherrie let me in on it.
    So sorry about your Grandma. I had 5 when I was young. It is not easy to say good bye as they pass into Jesus arms. All I can say is Cherish the memories you made with her. They will see you through –when you think of all the things you shared in love with her. God will heal the hurt with time but love never ends.
    I wish you well and great blessings in this lifetime experince. Enjoy your walk with Christ. You will be reward in some very surprising ways. God’s love Mary Alice Haldeman

  12. I am so sorry for your separation from your grandma at this time, and that is what it is a separation for you both have Jesus and will be together again. You must morn the way your heart tells you to morn, if it is with tears, or with joy for her. by the way the suit case came from church. Love Linda Harvey & Pastor

  13. Hi Colleen,
    I am so sorry about your grandma. I know hard it is to be away from your family when something terrible happens. But remember, you are not alone, God is with you and will help you through anything. I know there are a lot of people praying for you and your family right now. Keep praying and relying on God and I know you will make it through. You are doing great things in Uganda.
    Love, Katrina

  14. Colleen,So sorry,to hear about your Grandma Olive.Now you have another angel looking over you.Ask the Lord for peace.Love ya, P.S. Peanut butter has a good fat and lots of protein !!! Enyoy <:((::))<

  15. Colleen, So sorry to here about,Grandma Olive!!! Now you have another angel looking after you. Love Ya xoxo P.S. Peanut butter is very good for you, a good fat and lots of protein. <:((:))<<

  16. There is nothing that I can say that will make this any better, but I want you to know that Aaron and I say a prayer for you every night. You have another angel on your side now. I wish I could be there to just wrap my arms around you and give you a big hug 😦 Use this as more motivation to make Grandma Olive proud…. Love you sista!

Leave a Reply

