an excerpt. (entry one of two).

…but lion chasers know that God is connecting the dots in ways they can’t comprehend.  Lion chasers are humble enough to let God call the shots and brave enough to follow where he leads.

From In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day by Mark Batterson.

Last night I saw the children pray for the first time.  I nearly started to cry.  Children as young as three and four prayer far more passionately and with more conviction than I have ever prayed.  They stood, closed their eyes or covered their faces (a move that shows their fear of Lord) and all just started conversing with God.  I wish I could have understood what they were praying.  I sat there looking on, really more awe-struck than I’ve been in a very long time.  In my simple prayer to God as I watched on, I asked that He make these children lion chasers.  The odds are stacked against them, but they are called to great things.  I prayed they have the strength to follow Christ with such passion for the rest of their lives.

As for me, I think this trip is revealing a bit of the lion chaser in myself.  I hope you, too, are finding lions to chase and trusting what Jesus has put in your heart to do this moment.  For us alone, it will most certainly be too great of a task to complete. But isn’t too much, too dangerous or too outrageous for Him to handle.

Leave a Reply

