an open letter to an anonymous person. and an excerpt.

To whoever left the following comment on one of my very best friend’s old blog:

just what the world needs. more of liz..thinking she is all important. your annoying, ugly (huge nose, gross body), single and just…think your above it all. cant wait to read your musings, hypocrite.

Hello. You didn’t leave a name with your comment, so I can’t properly address you.  I tried to email you, but the email address you left is bogus. My name is Colleen Watson (as if the blog URL didn’t give it away). And I just felt the need to say something about how cruel this comment was you left my best friend of nearly 21 years.

I don’t know how you know Liz, but chances are it’s through her place of employment or a church-oriented facility/event. So I’m sure you are well aware of her beliefs in Jesus.  I share similar beliefs. I don’t know where you stand, but I’d like to sincerely apologize for the people Christians are.  I will be the first to admit I’m a total hypocrite (and in my opinion, so is every other Jesus-following person). We are trying to glorify God and love others to the best of our abilities, but we are only human so we are bound to fail at times. This is not a justification or excuse to sin or be mean, awful people…but it happens, so again I’m sorry on behalf of whoever has given you a bad taste in your mouth about Jesus/God/the Holy Spirit/Christianity.

With that said, the comment you left was extremely mean and hurtful. I don’t know if Liz has responded or will respond to it, but I refuse to let it fall to the wayside.  Nearly everything you wrote was a straight-up opinion, so whatever, everyone is entitled to an opinion, right?  But are you so shallow that her looks (in my opinion, Liz is beautiful) and relationship status contribute to your opinion of her as a person?

This comment broke my heart for one of my best friends, and even more because the author of the comment doesn’t have the guts to take credit for his or her words.  Regardless, I hope you feel better now that you’ve gotten all those mean things you’ve been thinking of Liz off your chest.

I don’t expect a response from you, but I’m fairly certain you found Liz’s site through my blogroll. I invite you to continue reading my blog.  Leave cruel comments if you’d like because, again, I admit I am a complete hypocrite who is constantly falling short of the person God desires for me to be.

Take care.

PS – To anyone who reads this, I also felt like this a good time to share something I read a long time ago that I’ve really been trying to practice more consciously. Though this specific blog may have been a failed attempt.

When it is right and  proper to speak, speak to edify.

from Counsels on the Spiritual Life by Thomas a Kempis.

One response to “an open letter to an anonymous person. and an excerpt.

  1. You go girl!!! Whoever that coward is is just palin mean. Liz is beautiful and fantastic 🙂

Leave a Reply

