to do – before death version.

This job is mind-numbing at times, and I feel like a part of me dies each minute I sit here and read celebrity gossip or check and recheck my blog stats. The wrinkles in my brain decrease every time I sort the mail. My spirit fades each time I get snapped at. Blah. I never thought having such an easy job would be so suffocating. I don’t mean to complain really, it’s been a good run. I’ve had the best lunch breaks and interactions with some really amazing people, but I’m over it.

With all that said (specifically the part of me dying…) I thought now is a good time to start my list of things I want to do before I really die. So I have 28 minutes left in the work day, let’s see what I can come up with (in no particular order):

  • Go to Africa.
  • Backpack through Europe with my dad.
  • Fall madly in love, but in a timely fashion.
  • Skydive.
  • Visit all 50 states. I mean really visit, not just drive through.
  • Get married to a man who I can honestly say is my best friend.
  • Climb a legitimate mountain, one that requires a bit of training.
  • Bicycle across the United States.
  • Have a job I love, where I’m doing something that matters.
  • Build a solid retirement fund.
  • Retire, but not how most people consider retiring. (For more on this, listen to John Piper’s philosophy on retiring.)
  • Confidently talk about Jesus and have actions that follow it up.
  • Have babies. Adopt babies. Be a parent. Love. Love. Love. No baby talk.
  • Go to India.
  • Go to South America.
  • Go to Australia.
  • Go everywhere.
  • Take my family to the beach. And to Walt Disney World.
  • Celebrate my 50th wedding anniversary, much like my maternal grandparents. With all my children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren.
  • Get a master’s degree in something.
  • Be the hands and feet of Jesus in preventing social injustice even when it’s not trendy.
  • Take my little sister to New York City.
  • Have backyard bonfires with my older sister.
  • Take my mom to the beach.
  • Photograph my dad on the D-Day beaches.
  • Buy a house, with a big backyard (bonus points if it’s by a lake or ocean).
  • Go back to Africa.
  • Read every Dr. Seuss and C.S. Lewis book.

That’s all I have time for. Expect multiple edits in future posts.

Also – for future reference, Belgium is its own country. It is not in Germany.

Leave a Reply

