You’re not the only one who needs convincing.

It’s 12:21 pm. Most of the business management side of the office has just stepped out for a meeting/special people only lunch.

Last weekend was an absurd amount of insanity and disorganized organization. I guess to everyone on the outside it appeared to go smoothly and that’s all that counts. I met some nice people as I drove them to the airport. They talked about Canada. I listened. Then I mentioned Africa and their encouragement was overwhelming. Thank you. I also attended, and by attended I mean worked, two parties.

The first was interesting. This is my third year working the conference, and each year I feel awkward and uncomfortable at the Friday night party. Everybody is somebody, or knows somebody. Most of these people have musical talent flowing out of every pore. They play the piano, strum the guitar or fiddle, and take turns singing in the living room as many just look on in admiration, or waiting their turn. Others congregate around the pool or bars and schmooze. Names aren’t dropped in this crowd. These are the “names.” But everyone still has an agenda. They want to find the next big star or be the next big star. I’m most comfortable at the poolside table with my coworkers, drinking my too-strong gin and tonic and munching on the hors d’oeuvres. I found myself standing by the piano around 12:30 am, listening to the amazing melodies of two young Nashvillans, Katie Herzig and Ruby Amanfu. I left around 1 am with Steve. Sometimes, I wish I was a musician.

Saturday night was definitely the more comfortable of the two parties. Again, I was in charge of checking names and making sure all the party crashers stayed out. It was a free-for-all barbecue buffet and silent auction with a music round including the likes of Josh Turner, John Prine and Sara Watkins. After most of the guests filtered in, I was able to join in on the festivities. Again, I found my comfort chatting with coworkers and NSC volunteers mostly. It was a casual networking environment, which I was fairly successful at. I left with the number a volunteer from Wilmington gave me to be an extra on One Tree Hill (my guilty pleasure). Shannon, prepare your bags, we’re going on a road trip sometime.

The conference is over and I am thankful. I am ecstatic to be done with those lists upon lists of names. I feel that it may have been the cause for the outbreak of zits on my right cheek. Now maybe my skin will clear up.

Back to the real world. I don’t like how people whisper in the lunch room when they are talking about someone else in the office. I’ve been guilty of this. I come to discover that I need to stop talking negatively about other people, something I frequently do. If I can’t say it to them/need to whisper about it, I shouldn’t be saying it.

Biblically, I’d say this is frowned upon:

  • Proverbs 16:28 – A perverse man stirs up dissension, and a gossip separates close friends.
  • Proverbs 20:19 – A gossip betrays a confidence, so avoid a man who talks too much.
  • Romans 1:29-31 – They have become filled with every kind of wickedness, evil, greed and depravity. They are full of envy, murder, strife, deceit and malice. They are gossips, slanderers, God-haters, insolent, arrogant and boastful; they invent ways of doing evil; they disobey their parents; they are senseless, faithless, heartless, ruthless.

I am not going to say mean things. I am not going to gossip. I am not going to say mean things. I am not going to gossip. I am not going to say mean things. I am not going to gossip. I am not going to say mean things. I am not going to gossip.

Boss, I apologize for calling you “power-tripping” two or three entries ago.

It’s 1:15, the superspecialsecret lunch folks are still out. I’m going to eat my peanut butter and jelly on the clock.

“Narnia, Narnia, Narnia, awake. Think. Speak. Love. Be walking trees. Be talking beasts. Be divine waters.” -Aslan in C.S. Lewis’ The Magician’s Nephew

Leave a Reply

