I am home.

I arrived yesterday via Southwest Airlines around 1:30 pm. I’ll be leaving tomorrow at 6:55 am. My spirit needed this visit, short as it may be. I’ve only been gone four and a half months, but my heart really aches to be back in this village.

I spent all day yesterday hanging out with my nephews. First, we hiked, followed by some quality bike rides around town and, finally, a little backyard baseball. Caden got caught in the middle of the main street as I was walking them from my mom’s to my dad’s. The look of panic on his face was priceless as he straddled the yellow lines in the center of the road with traffic coming at him in both directions. He looked at me, wide-eyed and willing to do whatever I told him. So I yelled, “Keep going!!!” as I waved my hand to the other side of the road.

He was panicked, I was not. Not that I endorse hanging out in the middle of the road, but this is Bolivar. All the traffic coming saw him and would have stopped if necessary. I appreciate this town. More importantly, I’m glad this is where I was raised.

Still, I admit, it feels odd coming “home.” Because as much as I wish this place were still my home, it’s not…not right now anyways. I still have an Ohio driver’s license, but I’m a resident of Nashville, Tennessee, until September. Then I’ll be a resident of Kampala, Uganda, until December.

And after that? I suppose I’ll be back here until I figure out something better to do. And I don’t mind that…

Leave a Reply

